NSW Annual Meeting and Malcolm Chaikin Oration

NSW Division

Event details

Wednesday 25 September 2019

North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
17 Blue Street, North Sydney, NSW 2060

Located about 50m from the North Sydney station exit in Blue Street. A two-minute walk from North Sydney railway station. Car parking is available at the hotel at $20 per night or alternatively free parking can usually be found in streets behind the hotel.


5pm – 6.30pm Annual Meeting
6.30pm – 7pm Pre-dinner drinks
7pm – 8pm Dinner
8pm – 9pm Malcolm Chaikin Oration


$80 per person for the dinner and Oration

Registrations close at 5pm on Wednesday 18 September


Brian Spies
The Academy Honorary Secretary & Events

Amelia Dean
The Academy Events Coordinator
03 9864 0919

The NSW Division Annual Meeting will be followed by dinner and the Malcolm Chaikin Oration, to be delivered by Professor Hugh Bradlow FTSE, President of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering.

BRADLOW Hugh 3234 IMG (6)
Professor Hugh Bradlow FTSE

President of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering

Professor Hugh Bradlow is President of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering. He is also an independent Non-Executive Director of Silicon Quantum Computing Pty Ltd.

He was previously Chief Technology Officer and Head of Innovation at Telstra, responsible for the R&D of new technologies and their introduction into Telstra’s business. Subsequently he became Chief Scientist at Telstra, in which role he advised the Telstra Board and management on the longer term technology directions and technology disruption anticipated to impact Telstra and its customers.

Before joining Telstra in September 1995, Professor Bradlow was Professor of Computer Engineering at the University of Wollongong in Australia and Professor of Electrical Engineering (Digital Systems) at the University of Cape Town.

Professor Bradlow graduated in electrical engineering from the University of Cape Town in 1973 and received the D.Phil. degree for research in experimental nuclear physics from the University of Oxford.

He is an Emeritus Professor of the University of Wollongong, a Professorial Fellow of the University of Melbourne, and a recipient of a Centenary Medal from the Commonwealth of Australia.

He is globally recognised as a thought leader in telecommunications and was elected as the joint 2009 Australian Telecommunications Ambassador of the Year, named by Global Telecom Business as one of the most 100 most influential telecommunications executives in the world and designated as one of the 12 most influential people in Australian ICT by Smart Company.