About us

Our history

The Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering was founded in 1975 as one of Australia’s four learned Academies.

Its original name was the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences but in 1987 the name was extended, with the addition of Engineering.

In 2015, the Academy adopted a new business name, the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering, reserving the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering as its company name.

In 2018, the Academy changed its brandmark from ATSE to Applied, to avoid the confusion caused by the acronym and to reaffirm the Academy’s origins in applied science and technology.

The Academy was officially inaugurated in Melbourne on 24 February 1976. It was a prestigious event attended by dignitaries including the Commonwealth Minister for Science, the Victorian Premier and the President of the Australian Academy of Science.

At the inauguration, the Academy inducted its first Honorary Fellow, Sir Mark Oliphant – the Governor of South Australia and a Foundation Fellow.

A year later, the Academy inducted its Royal Fellow, HRH Prince Phillip, Duke of Edinburgh KG KT OM GBE AC PC FRS FAA FTSE.

Academy Presidents

Sir Ian McLennan KCMG KBE FAA FTS – 1975-1983
Sir David Zeidler AC CBE FAA FTS – 1984-1988
Sir Rupert Myers KBE AO FAA FTS – 1989-1994
Sir Arvi Parbo AC FTSE – 1995-1997
Mr M.A. (Tim) Besley AC FTSE – 1998-2002
Professor John Zillman AO FAA FTSE – 2003-2006
Professor Robin Batterham AO FREng FAA FTSE – 2007-2012
Dr Alan Finkel AO FAA FTSE – 2013-2015
Professor Peter Gray FTSE – 2015-2016
Professor Hugh Bradlow FTSE – 2016-
The post-nominal at foundation was FTS. It was changed to FTSE in 1995.